SEATTLE – Bruce Harrell’s campaign for Seattle Mayor announced a slate of new endorsements from current and former elected officials, including Democratic legislators from Seattle and the Puget Sound region, leaders of the Legislative Black Members Caucus, as well as other local leaders.

They join what was already the largest and most diverse group of endorsements of any Seattle mayoral candidate in the recent primary, and show the growing momentum around Harrell’s campaign.

“Bruce is a steadfast voice for equity and justice, from his early work on ’ban the box’ legislation, advocacy for youth, and commitment to criminal legal reforms, to his support of economic opportunities for marginalized communities in the greater Seattle region,” said State Representative and Chair of the Black Members Caucus Jamila Taylor (D-30), an attorney and longtime advocate for criminal legal reform and juvenile justice. “We need his proven experience and genuine commitment in the Seattle Mayor’s office.”

“Bruce Harrell was among the first leaders in our state to demand the use of body cameras and push for bias-free policing,” said State Representative Jesse Johnson, sponsor of critical police reform legislation passed into law this year. “As Mayor, he will be a critical partner in ongoing police reform efforts and advancements in community-driven public safety.”

In addition to these and other BIPOC leaders in police and criminal legal reform, Harrell secured additional endorsements from current and former members of Seattle’s Democratic legislative delegation.

“Bruce is committed to ending divisiveness in City Hall and taking overdue action to address homelessness, restore parks and open spaces, and expand quality affordable housing,” said State Senator David Frockt (D-46). “He is the leader Seattle needs as our next Mayor.”

Today’s endorsements include current and former Democratic officials including:

  • State Senator David Frockt (D-46)
  • State Representative Javier Valdez (D-46)
  • State Representative Jamila Taylor (D-30)
  • State Representative Jesse Johnson (D-30)
  • State Representative David Hackney (D-11)
  • State Senator Steve Hobbs (D-44)
  • State Senator Kevin Van De Wege (D-24)
  • Former State Representative (D-46) and State Treasurer Jim McIntire
  • Former State Representative Eric Pettigrew (D-37)
  • Former State Representative and retired police detective Chris Hurst (D-31)
  • Former State representative and retired SPD officer Al O’Brien (D-1)

“I am honored for the endorsement of these and so many other leaders from throughout Seattle and the region,” said Harrell. “It’s going to take teamwork and collaboration to get people into housing, improve public safety, and support working families. With the confidence of so many fellow Democrats and leading policy makers, I know we can bring positive change and an end to the divisiveness in City Hall.”

These new endorsements add to the already long list of Democratic and local leaders supporting Harrell, including:

  • Congressman Adam Smith
  • Congresswoman Marilyn Strickland
  • Governor Gary Locke (fmr.)
  • State Senator Reuven Carlyle (D-36)
  • State Senator Jamie Pedersen (D-43)
  • State Senator Jesse Salomon (D-32)
  • State Representative Cindy Ryu (D-32)
  • State Representative Steve Bergquist (D-11)
  • State Representative Sharon Tomiko Santos (D-37)
  • State Representative and former Speaker of the House John Lovick (D-44)
  • Former State Representative Jessyn Farrell (D-46)
  • Former State Representative Dawn Mason (D-37)
  • Former State Representative Gael Tarleton (D-36)
  • Former State Representative Jesse Wineberry (D-43, 37)
  • King County Assessor John Wilson
  • Former County Councilmember Larry Gossett
  • Port Commissioner Peter Steinbrueck
  • Port Commissioner Sam Cho
  • Port Commissioner Fred Felleman
  • Former Seattle Mayor Norm Rice
  • Former Seattle Mayor Charley Royer
  • Former Seattle Mayor Wes Uhlman
  • Seattle Councilmember Deborah Juarez
  • Seattle Councilmember Alex Pedersen
  • Former Seattle Councilmember Sally Bagshaw
  • Former Seattle Councilmember Abel Pacheco
  • Former Seattle Councilmember Tom Rasmussen
  • Former City Councilmember Tim Burgess
  • School Board Member Brandon Hersey
  • Former School Board Member Betty Patu
  • Tacoma Mayor Victoria Woodards
  • Auburn City Councilmember Chris Stearns
  • Kenmore Councilmember Corina Pfeil
  • Renton Councilmember Ed Prince
  • Tukwila Councilmember De’Sean Quinn
  • Former Everett Mayor Ray Stephanson